Kiriko (5)

12/15/11

Merry Christmas from the Uni family!

I didn’t want to do it. I really didn’t. I was only trying to walk to Nijiya to buy some groceries last night. And I was almost home free too. I already crossed the street and was on the Nijiya side of Sawtelle. But as I approached the plaza, my head instantly snapped to the right. And there it was – Kiriko. It was as if the restaurant was calling out to me, saying: “Come in Chris. We miss you. You neglected us for a month.” I couldn’t resist such a higher calling.

As I went into the restaurant, I saw a full house. All the seats were filled, and everyone was having a great time – eating great food, chatting up Ken-san, drinking lots of sake. I didn’t make a reservation, but somehow, a single seat in the middle of the sushi bar opened up. Maybe it was really meant for me to go last night. Feeling the good vibrations, I left my dinner in the hands of the chef once again, with Tomo-san (who I didn’t see last time because he was on vacation, during which he apparently just drank wine at home – boring).

Quick recap:

Photo

Photo

Shirako

Photo

Herring Roe

Photo

Ankimo

Photo

Photo

I forgot what this was :(

Photo

Tako

Photo

Aoyagi

Photo

Fried Oysters

Photo

Tai

Photo

Buri, Toro

Photo

Tairagai, Awabi

Photo

Butterfish, Kohada

Photo

Uni x2

Photo

Kinmedai

Photo

Ika, Ike Geso

Photo

Herring Roe & Yamaimo Hand Roll

Photo

Meyer Lemon Ice Cream

Another month, another amazing dinner at Kiriko. Thanks again, Tomo-san, Ken-san, and Shinji-san. Glad to see the restaurant so busy and able to please all patrons. While I was leaving, Ken-san came out to personally greet me, and to tell me about the special dinners he has planned for New Year’s (on 1/1 and 1/2 I believe). Told me of the sample menu he has in mind, which includes spiny lobsters marinated in shaoxing wine and wrapped with prosciutto, tamago with black truffles, and other goodies. Sounds like they’re going all out, kaiseki-style.  Do you not want me to go home and see my family, Ken-san?

Chris Hei grade: A

Kiriko
11301 W Olympic Blvd, Ste 102
Los Angeles, CA 90064
(310) 478-7769

One thought on “Kiriko (5)

Leave a Reply

