Coconut Bay Bar & Grill

Photo credit: Shaved Ice Sundays

Can anyone tell me if there’s any real differences between The Boat, Banana Bay, and Coconut Bay? I swear, they all basically look the same and have the same menu. And they’re all near one another (except The Boat has been replaced by President Thai Cuisine, which has – you guessed it – the same look and menu). Anyways, we did frequent these restaurants from time to time when I was in college, because Will loved it so much. I, on the other hand, wasn’t too impressed to drive double the distance of Thai Town to get watered-down Thai food. But it was a good excuse to go play some miniature golf beforehand :P

Coconut Bay, however, has recently re-entered my life in the last few weeks. The reason: big projection TV! As some of you know, a group of us plays basketball in a league that’s based in City of Industry. So basically, Rowland Heights is the closest area with restaurants. And since we’ve been playing on Sunday mornings, it’s the perfect place to watch some football afterwards (though my heart hasn’t been into it since I missed playoffs…).

Enough irrelevant talk Chris, how’s the food? Like I mentioned before, it’s basically watered-down Thai food that I’m forced to drive 30 miles for. Enough said? I ordered the Thai Style Roasted Duck and King Noodles (to honor you, Will – his favorite dish) on my two recent visits. All I can say is that they were just okay. But service is great, Thai iced tea/coffee has free refills, and you get a big ass TV to watch football. They even enable the audio of the game for us. These factors alone are enough for me, although you won’t here me speak of the food.

Chris Hei grade: C

Coconut Bay Bar & Grill
18922 Gale Ave
Rowland Heights, CA 91748
(626) 913-9933

Coconut Bay Bar & Grill on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

