Green Island

Photo

Despite the number of photos I have, I think I’ll just do a lazy post for Green Island. We came here a couple of Saturdays ago. The restaurant looks relatively new (located in that new fancy-looking plaza on Atlantic Blvd with the condos), and is the sister restaurant of the Temple City one that shares the same name. Inside the restaurant, the decor is more upscale than your traditional Chinese restaurant in the SGV (however tacky it looks), and there’s even individual TVs at some of the booths/tables.

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

PhotoWe had six people, and ordered eight dishes (two were freebies because we ordered more than seventy dollars I believe). Some were pretty good, but most were just average. I was really hungry that night, so I ate everything with joy. But it’s a good thing I had time to let my thoughts about the restaurant marinate, because I have a tendency to let my hunger dictate my palate at times. Everyone raves about the fried rice (we ordered both the “prime rib eye” and eel varieties), and they were really filling, but take away the dog and pony show that is the stone bowl with table serving of mixing the rice, and what you have left is just a simple order of fried rice (although it was decent). The majority of my apathy of Green Island stems from their “pork belly” dishes. They weren’t really pork belly, but rather just some fatty cuts of cheap pork in my opinion. They could’ve just said pork, but with the pork belly in the description, I definitely raised my expectations of those dishes. Total letdown.

So average some decent dishes with some disappointing ones, and what you have left is an average restaurant. My group really liked the restaurant though, so there is a good chance I might be back to reassess my opinion of the place. And if you’re looking for value, Green Island does provide that (we ate all of the above for less than fifteen dollars per person including tax and tip). Still, if it was my choice I wouldn’t choose to come here.

Chris Hei grade: C

Green Island
500 N Atlantic Blvd
Monterey Park, CA 91754
(626) 289-7788

Green Island on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

