The Apple Pan

8/18/11Like with Roscoe’s, I used to love going to The Apple Pan. I probably thought that it was up there with In-N-Out back in the day. But like with Roscoe’s, I kind of fell out of love with The Apple Pan. I thought that it was because I got bored of the burger, but after some deep thinking, I think that it’s because the new burger wave of recent years produced burger joints that just flat-out beat The Apple Pan. Still, I’ve always stood up for the place, and always will.

PhotoI decided to come here after getting some cash from the Wells Fargo next door after work last Thursday. I also wanted to be out by myself, because the company I work for got bought that day. I wasn’t angry or sad, but it just took me by surprise, and I wanted some time to collect my thoughts and assess my prospective situation at the new company. Probably a little dramatic, but it did give me a good excuse to dine out. And 5:30 on a weekday afternoon is the absolute best time to eat at The Apple Pan, because it’s probably the only time they’re not packed.

Photo

Hickoryburger

PhotoHickoryburger

One of their two signature burgers. This one has a tangy, BBQ-esque sauce, Tillamook cheese, mayo, pickles, and lettuce. The patty was cooked medium to medium-well, which is not preferred for my burger patties nowadays. Still a good burger, and my favorite one here. Note: it’s pretty pricey for what it is ($7?).

Steakburger

PhotoSteakburger

The other one of their signature burger. Pretty much the same thing as the hickory one, but this one has a sweet ketchup-y relish sauce. Also good, but not as good as the hickory. And yes, I was a fatty eating two burgers in one sitting.

Banana Cream PieBanana Cream Pie

I took a banana cream pie to-go. This has to be my favorite slice of pie, despite the ugliness after some movement in the Styrofoam container. Yes, the place is called The Apple Pan, but if the name was based on their most delicious pie, it should be The Banana Cream Pan.

This visit both reassured me the reasons why I love The Apple Pan, and why I don’t like it as much as I used to. Pros: burgers are still good, pie is AMAZING. Cons: burger patty isn’t as good as the newer gourmet joints, pricey for what it is. Not going to go out of my way to come here, but I’m more inclined to visit this particular Wells Fargo next door again. It’s kind of on my way back home too, so if I’m feeling like having burgers and don’t want In-N-Out, I’ll come here.

Chris Hei grade: B

The Apple Pan
10801 W Pico Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90064
(310) 475-3585

Leave a Reply

