President Thai

After a satisfying victory a couple of Saturdays ago, we decided to head to Diamond Plaza in Rowland Heights again to eat. Since the team is full of indecisive eaters (Han was out of the country), we settled on President Thai (where The Boat used to be – don’t cry Will), as it was the closest restaurant to our parked cars. At first, I was somewhat excited, because I have been to the one in Pasadena and considered it one of the better Thai restaurants I’ve tried. But this location turned out of to be nothing like it…

This location is indicated as “President Thai Cuisine,” as opposed to the other location, called “President Thai Restaurant” on their website. I suppose that means that this location was supposed to be the more approachable version (like a cafe), compared to its more “formal” counterpart (although I’ve never seen a fine dining Thai restaurant before). Each of us got a lunch special. The dishes came with a soup or salad. I got the salad (pictured above), which had a weird honey-mustard dressing. Not good. Should’ve gotten the soup – I think they actually gave tom yum.

I ordered the beef noodle soup for my dish, while everyone else got a noodle dish I believe. This was just mediocre – a little bland, maybe even a little too sweet from what I remember. Should’ve gotten what everyone else ordered, although I tried a few bites and those weren’t really noteworthy, either. Stephen got the spicy noodles and requested 10/10 in terms of level of spiciness. Poor guy only ate half of it, and had to leech off of Chris Quinn’s pad thai.

They gave us a complementary dessert, which was a red bean soup with coconut milk I believe. By far the best part of the meal. Maybe I ordered the wrong things, since I’m not one to order off the usually-limited lunch specials menu. They did have some of the dishes I remember ordering at the Pasadena location I believe. However, if they can’t even execute dishes like pad thai and beef noodle soup, then it’s not a Thai place I would crave. More along the lines of the numerous delivery-centric Thai restaurants in West LA.

Chris Hei grade: C

President Thai Cuisine
1390 Fullerton Rd, Ste 105
Rowland Heights, CA 91748
(626) 839-3340

Leave a Reply

