Crepes Bonaparte

I’m usually not a food truck guy, despite seeing multiple ones near my work on a weekly basis (I think bebe, which is located a block from us, arranges for the trucks to come). I prefer to go home for lunch to save money and not get any fatter than I already am. But I had to run errands during my lunch last Wednesday, and was really hungry upon going back to work. Luckily, Crepes Bonaparte was readily available a block away. My coworkers said that they were on Food Network’s The Great Food Truck Race, so that was encouraging.

Baby Bleu – chicken, bleu cheese, spinach & raspberry vinaigrette

I had wanted a savory and a sweet crepe to have a nice balance of crepes (albeit all to myself). Not too familiar with savory crepes, I asked the server what his favorite savory one was, and he suggested the baby bleu. It was a nice crepe, although it didn’t really change my indifferent perception of savory crepes.

Le Classique – banana, nutella & whipped cream

Now this is what I’m talking about. Banana + nutella + whipped cream = epic combination. Actually this didn’t blow me away, but it was very delicious. Delicious enough that I forgot to take a photo of it.

My food truck experiences have been fairly limited, and I believe that the abundance of such trucks have diluted the scene in Los Angeles. However, I don’t think that Crepes Bonaparte has been a detriment to the crowd. Again, nothing mind-blowing, but just solid crepes.

Chris Hei grade: B-

Crepes Bonaparte/GASTON the Crepe Truck

Leave a Reply

