Curry House

The Curry House restaurant chain is a division of the House Foods America Corporation, makers of the curry sauce packages and tofu that you see so many of at Japanese markets. I have visited the location on Sawtelle Blvd. many times, due to its proximity and decent prices. The food has always been good, but not to the point where I’m recommending it other than for convenience. We (myself, Daniel and Eugenia) decided to go again Friday for lunch because Daniel’s a big fan, and he had just finished an interview in the area.

All three of us ordered the pork katsu (to my displeasure of course, since I hate ordering the same thing as others), but I got the “hot” version while the other two got medium. I put hot in quotations because it barely registers as mild to the common palate in my opinion. But the curry itself is good. There’s a slight sweetness that I like, probably from the apple paste/sauce and the vegetables they put in the curry. The katsu cutlets are also fried well. Always filling, never a disappointment. But like I said before, it also never wows. Besides the katsu curries, I’ve also tried the stone pot versions, the keema curry and the masala curry (a special throughout the year). I would never say no to Curry House, but I wouldn’t boast about it either.

Chris Hei grade: B

Curry House
2130 S Sawtelle Blvd, Ste 200
Los Angeles, CA 90025
(310) 479-8477

Note: second photo is of Eugenia’s dish. I had finished mine before the thought of taking a photo came to mind.

One thought on “Curry House

Leave a Reply

