Flossie’s Southern Cuisine

Fried chicken, collard greens, mac & cheese, candied yams

A sliver lining of driving all the way down to the South Bay just to buy groceries from Marukai and Ramen Iroha was my genius idea of knocking another restaurant nearby off my to-dine list. I had read about Flossie’s a long time ago (probably in LA Weekly), and since I had fried chicken on my mind from my Thursday night dinner at Huckleberry, it seemed like the logical way to go (it was the only non-Japanese restaurant on the list anyways). Plus, it was the most takeout-friendly by far.

I drove into the fairly empty lot of the plaza where Flossie’s is located and thought that the place was closed. The storefront has tinted windows like an Asian’s rice rocket. Entering the restaurant, the lights were barely existent. I have no idea why the lights were so dimmed, but it actually made the interior quite cozy (however making me sleepy). The nice ladies welcomed me from behind the counter, which is where you order and pay. On Saturdays, I believe that the meal’s $13 for 1 main, 3 sides, biscuit/cornbread, and a drink.

My choice: fried chicken (duh), candied yams, collard greens, mac & cheese, cornbread, and sweet tea. First of all, the fried chicken was very good. Maybe even better than the one I had at Huckleberry, and definitely better than the ones I’ve had at Roscoe’s. The mac & cheese was equally impressive. Flossie’s offerings of these two Southern staples were among the best I’ve had in recent memory. The breading was light, kind of reminiscent of what you’d get at Popeye’s (but sans Cajun seasoning and better executed obviously).

Flossie’s was definitely flossin’ some good Southern/soul grub. The great food, accompanied by the warm service that gave me flashbacks of when I used to frequent Roscoe’s during my high school days, made me wish Flossie’s was much closer to me. They even have $8 weekday lunch specials that look like great deals. A non-Japanese restaurant proved to be a pleasant surprise down in the South Bay, and although it’s been around forever, I’m fortunate to have finally stumbled upon it.

Chris Hei grade: B+

Flossie’s Southern Cuisine
3566 Redondo Beach Blvd
Torrance, CA 90504
(310) 352-4037

Flossie's on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Flossie’s Southern Cuisine”

Leave a Reply

