The Counter

Untitled

I loved the Santa Monica location of The Counter when it first opened. I loved it so much, I took Coach Mom. That’s like bringing my girlfriend home to meet her.

Most people in L.A. should know the deal with The Counter: you get a board with a checklist of options and ingredients for your burger. But the times they are a-changin’, and the gourmet burger craze of recent years has unfortunately kicked the place off the top of my burger hierarchy (despite their rapid expansion, which we’re seeing from Umami more recently) – and it’s not even close.

Still, take out the newer places that have spoiled me, and The Counter still delivers a solid burger. My coworkers and I went to the newest one in Westfield Century City mall, since it’s very close to work. Not the juiciest and most flavorful, but the burger was cooked a good medium-rare, and the plethora of options gave me the idea of creating an Asian burger that day. Satisfying enough, but the love isn’t there anymore. I hope we can still be friends though…

Untitled

Untitled

Chris Hei grade: B-

The Counter
10250 Santa Monica Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90067
(310) 282-8888

The Counter on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

