Fab Hot Dogs

Untitled

Sunday is slowly becoming the day of the week when I drive out of my way to try a restaurant, a casual one at that. Past places I frequented (and greatly enjoyed) on the day of rest include Bludso’s BBQ and Pollo a la Brasa. To this day, those two places have the best BBQ and rotisserie chicken I’ve had, respectively. On this particular Sunday last month, I decided to head up north to Reseda, to the place that is considered to have the best hot dogs in LA County: Fab Hot Dogs.

Fab is famous for being on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives and J. Gold’s 99 list. They have a large list of hot dogs (think Pink’s, but better), including the ripper, which is a beef and pork hot dog that is deep-fried. The joint has the rippers shipped from New Jersey, and it’s their most popular and acclaimed item. On this visit, I ordered the Bald Eagle Ripper, which is the ripper topped with a spicy mustard relish. I also ordered the Fab Dog, which is your standard hot dog with the fixings. To supplement these two dogs, I got a tray of house-made tater tots on the side.

I can say with fair certainty that these hot dogs are the best in LA indeed. The hot dogs were juicy and flavorful, the casing on the Fab Dog had a nice snap, the Bald Eagle Ripper had a nice “crust” from the deep-frying, and the house-made toppings went well with them. But I wasn’t exactly…amazed by the hot dogs. They’re good hot dogs, oh yes, but I’m not sure about them being good enough to drive 15-20 miles for. But if there was a Fab near my apartment, I would be fat from being stuffed with hot dogs all the time (har^2).

Untitled

Fab Dog

Fab Dog ($4.25) – charred all-beef dog topped with our sweet & spicy tomato relish, smoked bacon, deli mustard and diced onions

Bald Eagle Ripper

Bald Eagle Ripper ($3.60) – topped with our house made spicy mustard relish

Tater Tots

Tater Tots

Chris Hei grade: B

Fab Hot Dogs
19417 1/2 Victory Blvd
Reseda, CA 91335
(818) 344-4336

Fab Hot Dogs on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

