Monte Alban

1/25/12

I like mole. But I don’t love mole. It’s just not something I seek out when choosing where to eat. As a result, I don’t really go to Oaxacan restaurants all that often. But on my continuing quest to try new places, I saw a few people on Chowhound mention Monte Alban as a good cheap eats place. And it’s like a few blocks from my apartment. Sold.

Of course, I get the specialty: the mole negro. They have a boneless chicken version as well, but c’mon I know how to cut chicken. Must be for the white people. Ben ordered the clayuda, which is like basically a tostada (they even call it a “pizza” on the menu). The mole was a good mole, sweet, chocolaty, nutty, all the flavors you’d expect from one that’s well-done. But still not to crazy about it. Just solid. But I did like it more than the clayuda, which was a bit bland.

If you like mole, definitely go to Monte Alban. I think theirs is probably the best I’ve had. And the rice that comes on the side is in the shape of a pyramid (probably in reference to El Castillo in Chichen Itza) – pretty neat. Otherwise, it’s just solid Oaxacan food.

Mole Negro

Clayuda Mix

Chris Hei grade: B-

Monte Alban Restaurante
11927 Santa Monica Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90025
(310) 444-7736

Monte Alban on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Monte Alban”

  1. I just realized I think I’ve been here, when George’s was going through a Oaxacan phase. I got a goat soup like dish, forgot what it was called, but it was delicious! No mole for me.

Leave a Reply

