The Griddle Cafe

Photo credit: Kwongfucius

The first time I went to The Griddle Cafe was for my birthday last year. Eugenia really wanted to try the place, so she and Linh-Nam dragged me out for brunch that day. I had heard of the place and its ridiculously long wait. The three of us had to wait over half an hour at 10am on a Saturday (I think). This time, however, the wait was only a few minutes…for me and Luisito. Jeannie and her brother were nice enough to arrive early, I mean, on time to wait.

Unlike my previous visit where all three of us got sweets (Eugenia and I ordered pancakes, Linh-Nam French toast), this time we actually ordered one pancake and three savory dishes. Apparently this group likes savory more than sweet, in which case, The Griddle Cafe was probably the wrong place to meet up. The savory stuff was solid, but it’s basically above-average diner breakfast food.

The pancakes, however super-sized and loaded with so much sugar I could’ve contracted diabetes, were much better. I suggest sticking to those if you plan on going. Also, with the exception of the red velvet, all the other pancakes come in an order of three. Look at the photo below. One is plenty (and that option is available, although you should just order the “regular” size and take the rest home). I barely finished half of mine the last time around. Solid food, but food I wouldn’t want to wait an extended amount of time for.

Red Velvet Pancake

Red Velvet Pancake

Omelette "My Soul" w/ Steak

Omelette “My Soul”

"Poached y Papas" Benedict

“Poached y Papas” Benedict

"Chicago Charlie's" Scramble

“Chicago Charlie’s” Scramble

Chris Hei grade: B-

The Griddle Cafe
7916 W Sunset Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90046
(323) 874-0377

The Griddle Cafe on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “The Griddle Cafe”

    1. Don’t be discouraged by what I said, since I don’t have as much of a sweet tooth. The pancakes are good – I recommend red velvet and “black magic” (Oreo pancakes). Try to go as early as possible, and tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

