Blue Marlin

Photo credit: city-data.com

I remembered coming to Blue Marlin once a while back, and ordered the uni spaghetti, which I remembered was decent. But despite always being around the area, I never really wanted to return. I found out why the hard way during lunch a couple of weeks ago. Coworker Han really wanted to come here, not for their usual menu items, but for their pho (no kidding), which looks like it’s being supplemented by Phoreign. Coworker Mike ordered a chicken carbonara, and I ordered a pork cutler curry lunch special. The price of the lunch special was pretty reasonable actually. You get a salad, and a damn huge portion of the curry and rice. I didn’t finish the plate, although that probably had more to do with the lackluster curry. Tasted way too sweet. I hate to say this, but it might be below the curry you buy via packets from Japanese markets. A bit harsh, since they don’t specialize in curry (they do more of the Japanese-Italian fusion and omelet rice), but it is featured prominently on the menu. I don’t think I’ll return anytime soon unfortunately.

Pork Cutlet Curry

Pork Cutlet Curry Lunch Special ($8.50)

Chris Hei grade: C

Blue Marlin
2121 Sawtelle Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90025
(310) 445-2522

Blue Marlin on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

