Cafe 50’s

Photo credit: Eileen T. on Yelp

I used to really love diners in my younger days, circa 2006. Not just your neighborhood diners where your server were old enough to be your grandparent either – I even frequented the likes of Denny’s and Norm’s on a fairly regular basis during my college years. They were open late (or open 24 hours/day), and served breakfast all day. Food was cheap, portions were huge, and environment was comfortable. Everything a (horizontally) growing boy needed.

PhotoOnce I finally graduated and earned a salary, however, the pretentiousness took over. Well, not really. No more regular visits to Denny’s or Norm’s though, that’s for sure. But there is a part of me that misses the classic diner ambiance and cuisine. It’s good that Cafe 50’s is near my new apartment, to appease that nostalgia from time to time. The food here isn’t the greatest – breakfast is pretty good (like the eggs benedict pictured above), lunch/dinner is just okay. But it is good enough to make me want to make the occasional visit. And did I mention they have almost 50 varieties of milk shakes (ones which I’ve tried are very good by the way)?

Chris Hei grade: B-

Cafe 50’s
11623 Santa Monica Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90025
(310) 479-1955

Cafe 50's on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

